Retail, Offices, Residences & Hotels Proposed for Old Cook County Hospital Site

Retail, Offices, Residences & Hotels Proposed for Old Cook County Hospital Site

Wednesday, October 8, 2014, by AJ LaTrace

Early this month, the Cook County Bureau of Economic Development and the Chicago Architecture Foundation hosted a meeting that saw five different presentations for the future reuse of the old Cook County Hospital building and the surrounding 10 acre site it stands on. The five teams were made up of civic groups, developers, architects and academics. Lambda Alpha International had two teams present proposals, the Chicago Central Area Committee, Landmarks Illinois and the Metropolitan Planning Council (MPC) also presented their ideas. Architects included Perkins + Will, Fitzgerald Associates, Antunovich Associates and Brininstool + Lynch. Although the design and makeup of each proposal was different, most of them touched on the success of previous adaptive reuse projects and envisioned the old Cook County Hospital as the center of a new office, retail, residential and hospitality district. The full presentations can be downloaded from the Cook County website, but here’s some of the highlights from last night’s presentations. 

The video of the entire program is now available at also via a link at – thank you CAF for providing the live and archived video stream!  All of the team presentations are also accessible via both websites, and I believe the materials will remain archived on CAF for several months and on the County website indefinitely.

The Teams!

On behalf of the Ely Board of Directors and members we would like to thank the 27 participants!  Team Burnham was lead by Captain Christine Williams and team members included Ewa Weir, Leslie Roth, Ruth Wuorenma, Joan Suchomel, Grahm Grady, Chris Lee, Joanna Trotter, Wendy Walker Williams, John Lyons, Martha Frish and Dan Martin.  Team Bennett was let by Jennifer Tammen and Courtney Kashima.  Team members included Mark May, Ellen Stoner, Sharah Sheehan, Danielle Cassel, Allen Bombick, Kindy Kruller, Barton DeLacy, Brad White, Dennis Marion, Ellen Wesley, and Tim Doran.